What is the schengen visa

Schengen visa holders are free to move across the Schengen area—a grouping of 26 European nations that has done away with passport and other forms of border control—without any restrictions. This visa takes its name from the Schengen Agreement, which was signed in 1985 and formalized the conditions under which citizens of Schengen countries may freely travel to and from one another's territories.

The Schengen Visa is a popular travel document for tourists, businesspeople, and other visitors who wish to explore multiple European countries without needing individual visas for each one. In this way, the Schengen Visa has helped to promote greater travel and tourism within Europe while also facilitating trade and other economic activities across the region.

In this article, we will provide a comprehensive overview of the Schengen Visa, including its various types, requirements, application process, and other important details. So, let's get started!


There are different types of Schengen visas, each with its own eligibility requirements and restrictions. Here are some of the most common types of Schengen visas:

Schengen Visa Type A: Airport Transit Visa

Airport transit visas (type A visas) enable nationals of non-Schengen nations to enter the international terminal of an airport in a Schengen country to change flights or wait for their connecting aircraft. Those who are transiting through a Schengen airport on their way to another non-Schengen nation are required to have one. The Schengen nation cannot admit the bearer of a type A visa.

Schengen Visa Type B

Type "C" with the condition "transit" has replaced the previous type "B" visa for trips of less than five days.

Schengen Visa Type C

The brief stay The Schengen visa is by far the most popular. It is granted by the visa services (consulates, embassies, designated third-party providers) of a Schengen nation. Valid for stays or travel of up to 90 days during 180 days inside the Schengen region.

The short-stay category C Schengen visa may be either a single-entry, double-entry, or multiple-entry visa.

Schengen Visa Type D

The Schengen Visa of the Long Stay Type (D) is the de facto national visa. Anyone planning to stay in a Schengen nation for more than 90 days (up to 1 year) for educational or professional reasons must get one.


If you have a valid Uniform Schengen Visa (USV), you may visit and remain in the Schengen Area for up to 90 days every six months. Uniform Schengen Visas may be one of three different types:

  • Single-entry visa. A single entry into a Schengen nation is permitted during the duration of a Single entry visa. Even if you leave the country before your visa expires, you won't be able to re-enter since you'll be regarded as an out-of-country visitor.

  • Double-entry visa. A double entry visa allows you to enter a Schengen nation twice during the visa's validity period. When a visa has been used twice, and the second time the holder leaves the nation prior to its expiry, the holder is no longer permitted to enter the country.

  • Multiple-entry visa. As long as your multiple-entry visa is valid, you are free to enter and exit the Schengen Area as often as you choose.


Schengen visas are required for entry into any Schengen member state for most people who are not European (especially those from Russia, Africa, China and India). Visa requirements for visiting the European Union have been waived for citizens of the United States, Mexico, Canada, Japan, Australia, and Brazil. This implies that citizens of these countries do not need a visa to enter Europe for stays of up to 90 days.


If you are planning a trip to Europe and you are not a citizen of the Schengen area you will need to obtain a Schengen Visa. Applying for a Schengen Visa can be time-consuming but it doesn't have to be complicated. In this section, we will outline the steps you need to follow to apply for a Schengen Visa.

  • Visit VisaHQ to apply for the Schengen Visa.

  • Select "Schengen Area" as your travel destination and "Your Country" as your citizenship.

  • Fill out the Schengen Visa application form providing all required information and supporting documents.

  • Gather all necessary documents including a valid passport, travel itinerary, financial documents and proof of accommodation.

  • Submit your application and documents to one of the reputable visa application centers such as the embassy, consulate or Visa Application Center (VAC) to which the government has outsourced visa submission.

  • Set up a delivery appointment via email or in person to submit your application and documents.

  • Show up for the interview if required. The embassy or consulate may request an interview to verify your information and ask about your purpose for visiting the Schengen area.

It is important to note that each country may have different requirements and procedures for the Schengen Visa application process. Therefore, it is recommended that you research the specific requirements of the country you plan to visit. VisaHQ can assist you with this process and help you obtain a Schengen Visa waiver.

Apply for Schengen visa Online
Apply for Schengen visa online
This article was published by VisaHQ, a world leader in visa processing. Since 2003, VisaHQ has 20 offices in 6 countries and has helped countless tourist, business travellers, diplomats, workers, and students obtain their visa. With a 4.41 star rating on Reviews.io, VisaHQ is committed to innovation, service, security, and simplicity in the visa application process.