Norway ETIAS

 In light of the new policy about to go into force in Europe in the coming months, visitors from selected countries will need Norway ETIAS if they wish to visit the Kingdom of Norway.

For now, the visa free access they have with the Schengen area and most of Europe still stands, but once the new policy goes into force, it will become mandatory to get ETIAS approval before they can visit any country in the Schengen area, including Norway.

Keep reading to learn more about this new policy to see if you will be affected in any way.

Traveling To Norway

 Norway is located in the Arctic Circle, making it one of the coldest countries in Europe. It has fjords mostly found on the North West Coast and is surrounded by water in the South and North. Visitors will enjoy hiking, skiing, sailing, and tobogganing, a popular outdoor activity in Scandinavian countries, including Norway.

Camping in the wild and open country is also another favorite of the locals. In Norway, Aurora Borealis is a common phenomenon when the midnight sun and Lights come out from the Northern plains. The capital Oslo is the most populated and the center of Norwegian culture.


 The New Visa Waiver Policy

 The EU Commission in Brussels announced a new visa waiver system to launch in 2024. The system is called the European Travel Information and Authorization System. 

This program is not a visa but a waiver program designed to vet travelers from selected countries to Europe. The policy will also affect visitors traveling to Norway as the Norwegian government is set to accept the changes and demand the document from visitors.

 Visitors are expected to fill out the form at least 96 hours before they travel to the Schengen country, and they are free to arrive by land or air, depending on their preferred method. The form will be available online, and the approval will last for three years before the need to renew. Another feature of ETIAS is that holders can use the same document to visit other Schengen countries instead of applying for a new one.

Norway ETIAS Validity and Duration

 The approval will be valid for 36 months so that you can travel to multiple countries with it, but you cannot stay in Norway or any other country in the Schengen zone for more than 90 days. Travelers are meant to observe the 180 day rule either ETIAS.

But what does this mean? It means that they cannot stay in the Schengen area for more than 90 days within a 180 days period. Those who have stayed for up to three months over the last six months must wait for another six months before they can travel again. Those who wish to stay for longer or frequently visit at close intervals are advised to apply for a Schengen visa instead.

Why Will Norway Adopt ETIAS?

 Norway is a Schengen state and also a member of the European Free Trade Association, which is why the country is set to adopt ETIAS as well for all travelers coming from visa free countries.

However, the Kingdom of Norway is not a full member of the European Union because it has its one customs checks and union; that being said, it shares a close partnership with the continent and its non-Scandinavian neighbors. So those preparing for a future trip to Norway should prepare for Etias application.

Who Needs ETIAS?

 ETIAS is required for travelers who enjoy visa free access to Schengen countries. These countries have more than 50, and citizens previously needed only valid passports to visit Norway, but once the new policy becomes mandatory, they must attach ETIAS to their passports.

When Will Etias Come Into Force?

 The new policy will be tested for some months in 2023, and during the testing phase, visitors can travel without ETIAS. However, once the new policy comes into force by 2024, travelers without ETIAS will not be allowed to visit Norway.

How To Apply For ETIAS?

 The application is made online, so you don’t need to visit the Norwegian embassy in your country, nor do you have to submit physical documents to get approval. You can apply for ETIAS from the comfort of your home, and it will be approved if you meet all the requirements. VisaHQ will have an active platform dedicated to ETIAS application, so interested applicants will only need to do the following to apply:

  • Visit VisaHQ 

  • Choose Norway as your destination

  • Choose your country

  • Select ETIAS

  • Complete the application form

  • Attach the required documents

  • Pay the application fee

  • Submit for approval

Your travel destination  
Visa type
Your citizenship
Living in
    This article was published by VisaHQ, a world leader in visa processing. Since 2003, VisaHQ has 20 offices in 6 countries and has helped countless tourist, business travellers, diplomats, workers, and students obtain their visa. With a 4.41 star rating on, VisaHQ is committed to innovation, service, security, and simplicity in the visa application process.