Finland ETIAS

Finland ETIAS will become mandatory for any traveler from a visa free country in 2024, so interested travelers are advised to prepare for the new changes so their travel plans will not be disrupted. This is online with the new travel policy initiated by the European Commission in conjunction with all the Schengen States.


Who Will Need ETIAS?

ETIAS will be required for travelers coming to Finland from countries already on the Visa exempt list of Schengen countries. As you may already be aware, some visitors coming to Finland and greater Europe already enjoy visa-free entry, which is set to continue. The only difference this policy change will make is that they will have to get ETIAS approval before they can enter Finland.

Who Will Not Need Etias Approval?

Travelers from countries not on the visa free list already require Schengen visas to enter Finland, which will continue. Such travelers will not need ETIAS as they are ineligible for it. Only visitors from visa free countries will be allowed to use ETIAS.

What Is ETIAS?

ETIAS is a new policy that has been in the works for a few years. The European Travel Information and Authorization System is set to change how travelers from selected countries visit European countries in the Schengen Union and others not currently in the Union. In all, travelers from 63 countries will be allowed to visit Finland visa-free but will need Etias approval first.

All Schengen countries will require this document by 2024, including others such as Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Romania, that are currently not Schengen nations yet. Croatia is not yet a Schengen nation but will be by the time ETIAS becomes mandatory. Visitors from these countries will still need ETIAS to gain entry, including Finland.

The new policy is solely for short visits that must not last more than 90 days at a time, and once you get the approval, it remains valid for three years before you need a new one. You can use ETIAS for tourism and transit to attend a shirt business engagement in Finland, but for long visits that will extend and last for more than three months, you will need a Schengen visa instead.

How Many Countries Can I Visit With Finland ETIAS?

You can visit several countries, not just Finland, if you have ETIAS. Remember that Schengen states have the same visa policies so that ETIAS will be recognized by all member States, the same as the Schengen visa. However, there is a caveat; you must visit your primary destination before visiting any other country of your choice. 

If Finland is your primary destination, you must indicate it in your form and fly to Helsinki before traveling to any other Schengen country.

Note: Visitors to The Republic of Ireland must apply for an Irish visa as the country is not a signatory to the Schengen Agreement. 


Why Is Finland ETIAS Required

Europe has been battling a migrant crisis for years which was exacerbated due to wars in neighboring continents. This caused serious migration challenges for European countries, particularly those in the continent's Southern regions. Secondly, Europe has had its fair share of terrorist attacks in recent years due to the influx of unidentified persons from different parts of the globe. To checkmate the threat, the European Commission passed legislation to introduce a security checking System similar to the United States ESTAS to vet the identity of people coming into Europe.

Another reason why Etias became a necessary program was the negative effects of COVID-19. With ETIAS, European Union authorities will be able to identify travelers who have been to countries or regions with a prevailing pandemic and either prevent them from coming or recommend vaccination protocols to protect their local populations.

What Do I Need To Apply For Finland ETIAS?

You only need a valid passport to apply for this European visa waiver. The passport should cover your trip to Finland and the wider Schengen region. You must upload the bio page of the passport, but that is not all. The application form also has a section for personal information, passport information, and travel information and endeavors to provide only valid information.

How To Apply For ETIAS?

The application can be made on the VisaHQ portal in the following steps

  • Visit VisaHQ 

  • Choose Finland as your primary destination

  • Choose your country

  • Select ETIAS visa waiver

  • Complete the form

  • Scan and upload your passport bio page

  • Pay the application fee

  • Submit for approval

The process is straightforward, and you will get a notification in a matter of minutes after the check is complete. If you are successful, the Finland ETIAS approval will be forwarded to your email. Visit VisaHQ now to register.

Your travel destination  
Visa type
Your citizenship
Living in
    This article was published by VisaHQ, a world leader in visa processing. Since 2003, VisaHQ has 20 offices in 6 countries and has helped countless tourist, business travellers, diplomats, workers, and students obtain their visa. With a 4.41 star rating on, VisaHQ is committed to innovation, service, security, and simplicity in the visa application process.