Malta is one of the most beautiful island countries in Europe, attracting millions of visitors every year. However, from 2024 visitors from visa-free countries must hold Malta Etias to enter the island. The new Eau travel rules are making quite the round lately as many visitors will be affected by them. The new travel policy will enter a testing phase by May, but from the start of 2024, visitors will need to get ETIAS clearance before they can visit Malta. Planning to visit Malta anytime soon? Read this article to the end to gain new insight.

Malta At A Glance

Malta is one of the few independent island countries in Europe and an official Schengen zone member. The capital of the independent state is Valletta, and it is a tourist hub in Southern Europe. Malta issues its own passport but conforms to the immigration regulations of the Schengen Area. Surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea, it is one of the few countries in the world with most of its citizens abroad. 

For instance, there are more Maltese citizens in Australia than there are in Malta.

The Maltese population in Europe is quite large, with many preferring to holiday on the island rather than live there permanently. Malta has lovely beaches since it is surrounded by water. There are five star restaurants, hotels, and resorts that provide visitors with all the comfort they need. The island possesses a rich blend of modern and classical buildings, with castles and palaces built more than one hundred years ago still standing.

If you will love to enjoy a perfect getaway in Malta, be prepared to submit an application for ETIAS approval ahead of time.

Who Needs Malta Etias?

The first thing you should know is that Malta Etias is not for everyone but for visitors coming from selected visa-free countries. In case you didn’t know, Schengen nations have a list of approved countries whose citizens can visit the zone without visas, and these countries are first and second world countries like The US and UK, Australia, Japan, Canada, New Zealand, etc.  

Based on the current count, there are more than 60 countries on the list; if you come from any of these countries, you can still enjoy visa free access to Malta and any other Schengen country, but you must get ETIAS approval first. This approval must be sought at least 96 hours before the travel date.

ETIAS Malta Validity

All ETIAS documents will have a uniform validity of 3 years from the issue date and offer multiple entry benefits. However, holders cannot use it to stay for more than 90 days, whether they are staying in the same country or multiple countries. Also, Etias is designed for short term visits, not long term visits for work, study, or any other extended stay. If your passport expires before the expiration date, the ETIAS automatically expires as well.

Official Date of Commencement

ETIAS will become active in 2024, and it will be mandatory for all visitors coming from visa free countries. The European Travel Information Authorization System will screen visitors coming to Europe, and those on the crime watchlist will not be allowed into Europe. The system will screen visitor information using databases like the Schengen Information System, among other databases, to verify the identity of visitors.

The sole aim of ETIAS is to protect visitors and residents from criminal elements or future pandemics. The ETIAS testing phase will last for six months, and during that time, eligible travelers will still be allowed to enter the country without the approval.


How To Apply For Malta Etias?

Applying for Malta Etias is easy using the VisaHQ portal; here are the steps to take to get your ETIAS application

  • Log unto VisaHQ 

  • Choose Malta as your destination

  • Choose your country of citizenship

  • Select ETIAS

  • Attach your documents

  • Pay the application fee

  • Submit for approval

Applicants must provide a valid email address to receive the notification once their application is approved.

How Much Is The Fee?

The application fee is €7 for visitors between 18-70 years of age. Those below the age of 18 are not liable to pay the fee, and so are those above 70 who are also exempted. Application fees are payable with a credit or debit card to the European Commission, and only then can you submit the form for approval.

Grounds For Rejection

Your application can be rejected if

  • You submit the wrong information

  • Invalid documents

  • Crime of trafficking

  • Drug trafficking

And a host of other crimes with foreign or EU countries. Those on the terror watchlist will be denied as well.

Malta Etias is available on VisaHQ for visitors planning their trip to Europe. Take your time to fill out the form carefully and submit it for review and approval.

Your travel destination  
Visa type
Your citizenship
Living in
    This article was published by VisaHQ, a world leader in visa processing. Since 2003, VisaHQ has 20 offices in 6 countries and has helped countless tourist, business travellers, diplomats, workers, and students obtain their visa. With a 4.42 star rating on, VisaHQ is committed to innovation, service, security, and simplicity in the visa application process.